Edith Maryon

Edith Maryon (born 1872 in London – died 1924 in Dornach, Switzerland) trained in sculpture at the Royal College of Art in London. After professional practice as a sculptor in Great Britain, she became a close colleague of Rudolf Steiner (1861–1925) from 1914 up to her death.

Alongside her pursuit of art, Edith Maryon was intensely concerned with social issues. She was particularly interested in the impact of architecture and sculptural design on human beings and social behaviour, as well as in the positive influence such factors can exercise on human co-existence.

During her years at Steiner’s side, she was involved in the planning of staff housing for the Goetheanum building in Dornach. Further testimony to her commitment is provided by the three “Eurythmy houses” in the immediate vicinity of the Goetheanum, which she co-designed with Rudolf Steiner, as well as by her profound contribution to the large-scale Representative of Humanity sculpture still visible in Dornach.

Contemporaries of Edith Maryon particularly valued her reliability and pronounced sense of the practical. In conjunction with idealism and commitment, these qualities enabled the productive investigation of social questions that resulted in so rich a legacy of ideas and body of artistic work.

The character attributes of Edith Maryon likewise provide inspiration for the day-to-day work of the foundation that bears her name.

Edith Maryon

Edith Maryon (1872 London – 1924 Dornach) liess sich zur Bildhauerin am Royal College of Art in London ausbilden. Nach ihrer bildhauerischen Tätigkeit in Grossbritannien war sie von 1914 bis zu ihrem Lebensende eine enge Mitarbeiterin von Rudolf Steiner (1861–1925).

Neben ihrer künstlerischen Tätigkeit setzte sie sich intensiv mit sozialen Fragen auseinander. Dabei interessierte sie insbesondere, wie sich die Architektur und das plastische Gestalten auf den Menschen und sein soziales Verhalten auswirkt, respektive wie das Zusammenleben von Menschen dadurch begünstigt werden kann.

In diese Zeit fällt auch ihr Engagement für den Bau von Wohnungen für Mitarbeiter des Goetheanum in Dornach. So sind zum Beispiel die drei Eurythmiehäuser – in unmittelbarer Umgebung des Goetheanum –, welche sie in Zusammenarbeit mit Rudolf Steiner künstlerisch gestaltete, aber auch ihre konzentrierte Mitarbeit an der Grossplastik des Menschheitsrepräsentanten, die heute noch in Dornach zu sehen ist, ein lebendiges Zeugnis ihres Wirkens.

Von ihren Zeitgenossen wurden ihre Zuverlässigkeit und ihr ausgeprägter Sinn fürs Praktische besonders geschätzt. Diese Eigenschaften, gepaart mit Idealismus und Engagement, ermöglichten eine fruchtbare Auseinandersetzung mit sozialen Fragen und hinterliessen ein reiches Erbe an Impulsen und künstlerischen Arbeiten.

Edith Maryon ist auch in Bezug auf ihre Charaktereigenschaften ein Vorbild in unserer täglichen Stiftungsarbeit.