Objectives

Real estate – a social commodity. Land resources are finite and the question of how they are used is a social issue. Moreover, buildings inevitably have an impact on society, on public space – possibly for the duration of several generations.

This is where the work of Stiftung Edith Maryon begins. The nonprofit foundation sees its mission in removing, in dialogue with owners and users, land and properties from the stream of commerce and inheritance in such a way that they are no longer objects of speculation but instead made available, permanently but flexibly, to new projects that serve society. The primary goal in each case – to enduringly secure socially responsible places of residence and work – is to reduce the encumbrance of debt on the property. Further objectives are to connect up the areas of living and working, to promote the social cohabitation of young and old, of the able-bodied and people with disabilities, families and single households, to encourage self-accountable and self-administrative structures, as well as to promote living, good quality architecture that encompasses green building methods enabling people to feel at ease with their individuality and within the social whole.

Stiftung Edith Maryon sees its task in paving the way for innovative social partnerships between property owners and the occupiers, and in implementing these proposals in the form of tangible projects relevant to everyday life. Our efforts focus not just on “residence” but also on self-accountable upkeep and maintenance. In this regard, the Foundation promotes sustainable initiatives taking into account universal responsibility for humankind and the natural environment.

These objectives make Stiftung Edith Maryon a cross-generational project. While the residents and users of individual properties come and go, the Foundation remains – together with the impulse toward social and public benefit that inhabits a particular project.

The illustration at the top shows Rudolf Steiner’s handwritten dedication to Edith Maryon in the book «In Ausführung der Dreigliederung des sozialen Organismus», Stuttgart, 1920 (Essays on the Threefolding of the Social Organism).

Zielsetzung

Immobilien – ein soziales Gut. Grund und Boden ist eine unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen und als solche nicht vermehrbar. Fragen nach dem Landeigentum und nach der Landverteilung und -nutzung sind deshalb von allgemeiner, gesellschaftliche Bedeutung.

Hier setzt die gemeinnützige Stiftung Edith Maryon an. Wir betrachten es als unsere Aufgabe, im Dialog mit Eigentümern und Nutzern Grund und Boden aus dem Waren- und Erbstrom herauszulösen, damit dieser der Spekulation entzogen und somit dauerhaft und immer wieder neu für Vorhaben, die der Gesellschaft dienen, verfügbar wird. Das übergeordnete Ziel – zur dauerhaften Absicherung sozialer Wohn- und Arbeitsstätten – ist jeweils die Entschuldung des Bodens. Weitere soziale Ziele sind die Verknüpfung von Wohnen und Arbeiten, die Förderung des sozialen Zusammenlebens von Jung und Alt, Familien und Singles, behinderten und nicht behinderten Menschen etc., die Stärkung von Eigenverantwortung und Selbstverwaltung sowie die Förderung einer lebendigen, qualitätsvollen Architektur einschliesslich ökologischer Bauweisen, in der sich die Menschen als einzelne und soziale Individuen wohlfühlen.

Die Aufgabe der Stiftung Edith Maryon ist es, Anregungen für neue soziale Partnerschaften zwischen Eigentümern und Nutzern zu initiieren und diese auch für den Alltag in Form von konkreten Projekten umzusetzen. Im Mittelpunkt steht nicht nur das «Bewohnen», sondern auch die eigenverantwortliche Pflege. So fördert die Stiftung nachhaltige Initiativen, die der Verantwortung gegenüber Mensch und Natur gerecht werden.

Die Stiftung Edith Maryon ist somit selbst ein Generationen übergreifendes Projekt. Bewohner- und Nutzerschaften einzelner Immobilien kommen und gehen – die Stiftung bleibt, und mit ihr das soziale und gemeinnützige Moment am jeweiligen Ort.

Obige Abbildung zeigt die handschriftliche Widmung Rudolf Steiners an Edith Maryon in dem Buch «In Ausführung der Dreigliederung des sozialen Organismus», Stuttgart 1920.